Mayflower Descendants Scholarship Luncheon

Pictured, from left, winners Nicholas Morrow and Sophia Morrow of Brentwood, Junior Chair Sandra Taylor-Stockus, winners Lucas Morrow of Brentwood and Lars Grotenhuis.

MANCHESTER — The New Hampshire Society of Mayflower Descendants held their annual Scholarship Luncheon at the Executive Court Banquet Facility in Manchester on May 18. Society Governor Heather Rojo of Manchester and Scholarship Committee member Penny Webster of Milford presented four scholarships this year. Winners were Connor Jackson of Derry, Thor Grotenhuis of Nottingham, Rebecca Masison of Northwood, and Emma Daley of Pembroke.

Society Historian John White of Pelham welcomed new member Denise Recupero of Hampton and dual state member Michael Rounds.

Junior Member chair Sandra Taylor-Stockus of Nottingham presented awards to the Junior Members: Lucas Morrow, Nicholas Morrow, and Sophia Morrow of Brentwood, and Lars Grotenhuis of Nottingham. Lars also gave a presentation on Miles Standish.

2020 will be the 400th anniversary of the landing of the Mayflower, and the NH Mayflower Society Junior Members plan to plant trees and erect a plaque in honor of the occasion. Junior Member chair Sandra Taylor-Stockus reported on her efforts in finding a location for the planting. David Royle of New London is heading the Pilgrim Book Project, and plans to contact all 244 libraries in the State of NH to boost their Mayflower book holdings and coordinate Mayflower story-hour readers in the state's libraries.

Governor Rojo closed the meeting with a presentation by historic re-enactors David Jennings and Kathy Kroger of the South Coast Historic Association, who brought many trading-post objects associated with the time period. Scholarship winner Thor Grotenhuis modeled the armor for the group.

If you are a Mayflower descendant and wish to join the Mayflower Society, please attend the Mayflower Social scheduled for Sat., August 24 from 2:00-4:00 p.m. at the Woodland Pond Clubhouse, 3024 Country Side Boulevard, in Manchester. Please visit, and please contact Society Historian John White at or Governor Heather Rojo at for more information about membership and the upcoming 2020 Commemoration.



This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you