, Kingston, NH

May 9, 2013

SRHS Senior Scholars

Carriage Towne News

---- — KINGSTON — Sanborn Regional High School (SRHS) announced that seventy-nine of its graduating seniors, a record number for the school, have met the requirements for the New Hampshire Scholar program. New Hampshire Scholars is a community-based program that encourages students to take a more rigorous core course of study in high school. It is based on a partnership between local business leaders and the school district. New Hampshire Scholars is federally-funded through the U.S. Department of Education, College Access Challenge Grant (CACG).

Sanborn Regional High School has been involved with the program since 2010. The percentage of Sanborn graduates who qualify to be New Hampshire Scholars has steadily risen from 35% in 2010 to 50% in 2013. In 2012, 21% of New Hampshire seniors qualified for the program, making Sanborn’s participation rate one of the highest of all New Hampshire Schools.

New Hampshire Scholars Program Director Scott Power attributed Sanborn’s success to several factors including support from the administration and the school’s strong connections to the local business community. He offered high praise for the Guidance Department, under the direction of Michelle Catena, because they have made this program a high priority in their college counseling work with students. Sanborn counselors work hard to try to make all of our students eligible for this elite program. You can learn more about this program by visiting their website here:

Sanborn Regional High School is proud to recognize the following seventy-nine seniors who have been named 2013 New Hampshire Scholars: Rachel Alix, Ryan Allore, Ciara Angelone, Lauren Barker, Mariah Barnum, Kyle Beebe, James Belanger, Taylor Bolduc, Katelyn Bonin, Joseph Brennan, Travis Broadhurst, Bailey Coish, Rachel Colbert, Zachary Collins, Cara Crouse, Nikolas Currao, Louis Davis, Amanda Dole, Sara Drury, Amanda Fortin, Benjamin French, Meredith Garcia, Angelica Gardella, Brianna George, Christo Giannopoulos, Kimberly Goucher, James Gould, Allyson Guglielmino,

Robyn Hills, Jessica Howell, Kenneth Jenkins, Leah Johnson, Sarah Keebaugh, Kayla King, Leonie Kirby, Kylee Kurto, Rebecca Laliberte, Mary Lambert, Stephanie LaPierre, Elyse Law, Katarina Lekborg, Connor Lyons, Emily Mailloux, Jacob Mann, Tyler Nelson, Heather O’Brien, Steven O’Callaghan, Daniel Okuniewicz, Melissa Peirce, Kyle Pelletier, Elizabeth Pettit, Lauren Pike, Megan Predki, Joseph Ramos, Summer Rogers, Charles Ross, Stephanie Sammon, Jonathan Scheidegger, Tyler Schumaker, Kyle Seale, Jacob Simoneau, Tyler Sirois, Abigail Mae Smith, Abigail Mary Smith, Vanessa Spero, Molly Statezni, Isabelle Sullivan, Joshua Tomany, William Trautmann, Amanda Turco, Katelyn Upton, Hannah VanAuken, Grant Wagner, Hunter Wagner, Allison Welch, Connor Whitford, Holli-Amber Woods, Joshua Yaratz, Tayler Young.