Student-Made NH Maple Syrup Winners

Pictured above, from left, Jim Fadden (NHMPA President), Debbi Cox (NH Ag in the Classroom), Jason Dunne, Madison Dunne, Olivia Dunne, Jeff Moore (NHMPA Board Member), and Bruce Treat (NHMPA Board Member). 

The New Hampshire Maple Producers Association (NHMPA) is proud to announce the winners of this year’s Walter A. Felker Memorial Award. Top honors in the School division have been awarded to Crotched Mountain School in Greenfield; top honors in the Individual category have been awarded to sisters, Madison and Olivia Dunne of Newton.

The awards are the culmination of an annual program which encourages K-12 schools and students across the state to take a hands-on approach to learning about NH’s maple tradition. Earlier this spring, students tapped trees, collected sap and boiled it down to make “liquid gold.” At the end of the maple season, contestants submitted a maple syrup sample that was judged at the annual NHMPA summer meeting in July.

For Madison and Olivia Dunne, the process was “a lot of work but very rewarding because it taste so good.” The young women were originally inspired by their dad to take up the syrup challenge. For Crotched Mountain School, it took a community effort to produce their award-winning syrup with both former Crotched Mountain student, Richard Siebert and NHMPA mentor, Chris Pfeil, owner of The Maple Guys in Wilton, lending a hand.

This Week's Circulars