, Kingston, NH

January 31, 2013

My Opinion: January 31, 2013

By NH State Representative L. Michael Kappler
Carriage Towne News

---- — RAYMOND — I was at two presentations by the New Hampshire Judicial Branch with my new Judiciary Committee. They went through the branch set-up, explaining many points of interest including the following:

The Judicial Branch has Constitutional Authority established in the NH Constitution Part 2, Article 72-a – judicial power vested in supreme and superior courts and such lower courts as the legislature may establish. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court is the administrative head of all the courts, per Part 2, Article 73-a.

The purposes of courts: to do individual justice in individual cases; to appear to do justice in individual cases; to provide a forum for the resolution of legal disputes; to protect against the arbitrary use of government power; to make a formal record of

legal status; to deter criminal behavior; to rehabilitate persons convicted of a crime; and to separate persons convicted of serious offenses from society.

The various sources of law: Constitutions; Statutes; Case Law-trials and appeals; Common Law; Administrative Rules and Regulations; Administrative Adjudications; Executive Orders; and Local Ordinances.

Currently, our Judicial Branch has three courts: the Supreme Court with Chief Justice Linda S. Dalianis; the Superior Court with Chief Justice Tina L. Nadeau; and the Circuit Court with Administrative Judge Edwin W. Kelly and Deputy Administrative Judge Hon. David D. King.

That the Circuit Court now has three divisions: District Division (formerly District Court); Probate Division (formerly Probate Court); and Family Division.

The presentations were excellent and I say a big “Thank You”, for a job well done, to Chief Justice Tina Nadeau for hosting them.

(Editor’s Note: NH State Representative Mike Kappler can be reached at