CarriageTowneNews.com, Kingston, NH

News

October 10, 2013

Visit Historical Museum

FREMONT - The Fremont Historical Museum located at 8 Beede Road, opposite the Fremont Safety Complex, will be open on Saturday, October 12 between 10a.m. and 1:00p.m. Admission is FREE. This former grammar schoolhouse built in 1895 is jampacked full of numerous old photos, posters, documents, and intriguing exhibits that testify to the fascinating and interesting history that has made Fremont one of the most colorful and eventful small towns located in southeastern New Hampshire.

Fremont was settled in the 1720’s and 1730’s and was originally called POPLIN when the town was incorporated on June 22, 1764. The name was changed to FREMONT on July 8, 1854 in honor of John Charles Fremont - the famous American West Explorer and Civil War General.

Fremont will be celebrating its 250th Anniversary in June 2014. This will be a great opportunity to get to discover the many historic people, places and events that shaped this intriguing old New Hampshire town. Discover plane crashes, riots, UFO’s, buried treasure, devastating fires, barrel making, brick making, gun-making, railroad accidents, covered bridges, dairy-farming, Fremont Town Band and Bandstand, town pounds, old cemeteries, unique 1800 twin-porch meetinghouse, old churches, submarine inventor, baseball teams, etc.

This will be the last opportunity in 2013 to view this museum. Enjoy a pleasant autumn day discovering a great old rural New Hampshire town.

For more information, or to make a special appointment, please call FHS President Matthew E. Thomas at 603-895-4032.

1
Text Only
News

New England News
Obituaries

Stocks